PenguinBanner

Marina Rost

3. semester, winter semester 17/18

Course: Typedesign and Grids, Seminarweek

by Marvin Boiko

My font, Penguin, was inspired by round shapes and the Bauhaus style. The individual glyphs consist of circular rings of different sizes and if necessary, they were broken down into quarter sections of rings. A special feature is also the bold stroke width.

In the beginning, to get inspired and test out different options, we put together the first draft of letters from cutting out various shapes and gluing them together.

Rasterelemente

Afterwards everyone continued to pursue their most exciting and interesting design concept for their glyphs. I decided to design a complete alphabet in capital letters (with various alternative characters), including numbers and umlauts according to the same scheme. The next step was to fine tune the glyphs in the Glyphs font editor.

In my free time, I elaborated a additional light font style. Both font styles are at the end of the article available for download, as well as for non-commercial use.


PenguinSatz

We documented the processes and the work progress of our entire group, as well as the results of this productive week with our Instagram account - Typoglyphy, which was especially created for this purpose. The work results of the entire group were subsequently presented in the framework of the seminarweek by an internal university exhibition. Our goal for the exhibition was, to create a room filled with glyphs, in which the viewer can move around and look at the different glyphs and fonts which were made in this workshop.

Download: Penguin


PenguinSatz

PenguinSatz

PenguinSatz

PenguinSatz

PenguinSatz

PenguinBanner

Marina Rost

3. Semester, Wintersemester 17/18

in Typedesign and Grids, Laborwoche

bei Marvin Boiko

Meine Font, Penguin, wurde stark durch runde Formen und den Bauhaus-Stil inspiriert. Die in den einzelnen Glyphen zu erkennenden Kreisringe unterschiedlicher Größe, wurden falls nötig schematisch in Viertelteile zerlegt. Ein besonderes Merkmal ist außerdem die auffällige Strichstärke.

Zu Beginn, um Inspirationen zu sammeln und Verschiedenes auszutesten, klebten wir aus ausgeschnittenen einfachen Kreis- und Rechteck-Formen, die ersten Buchstabenentwürfe zusammen.

Rasterelemente

Jeder verfolgte anschließend seinen spannendsten und interessantesten Entwurf weiter. Ich habe im Anschluss ein komplettes Alphabet in Großbuchstaben (mit diversen alternativen Zeichen), inklusive Ziffern und Umlauten, nach dem selben Schema entworfen. Der nächste Arbeitsschritt, war es nun die erstellten Glyphen in dem Schriftbearbeitungs-Programm Glyphs, den Feinschliff zu geben.

In meiner Freizeit erarbeitete ich zu dem in dem Workshop entstandenen Schriftschnitt, zusätzlich noch einen Light-Schnitt. Beide Schriftschnitte stehen am Ende des Artikels zum Download, zur nicht-kommerziellen Nutzung zur Verfügung.


PenguinSatz

Unsere Arbeitsprozesse der gesamten Gruppe, die Fortschritte, sowie Ergebnisse dieser produktiven Woche dokumentierten wir mittels unseres eigens dafür angelegten Instagram-Account - Typoglyphy. Die Arbeitsergebnisse der gesamten Gruppe wurden im Rahmen der Laborwoche anschließend durch eine Hochschul-interne Ausstellung präsentiert. Bei der Austellung war es unser Ziel einen Raum voller Glyphen zu erschaffen, in dem sich der Betrachter bewegen kann und egal wo er hinsieht die Arbeitsprozesse sowie die letztendlichen Ergebnisse aller dessen was bearbeitet wurde, betrachten zu können.

Download: Penguin


PenguinSatz

PenguinSatz

PenguinSatz

PenguinSatz

PenguinSatz