PowerFlower

Vanessa Stöckel, Jana Seemann, Marina Rost

1. semester, winter semester 16/17

Course: Technologies

by Laurens Rinke

The task in the three-day block seminar "Technologies" was: "to develop interactive machines that communicate with each other through a network and thereby change their behavior". The behavior should be human or animal-like.

We decided to develop and design an artificial flower that would display the water level in a flower bed or flower pots by changing its blossom color and buckling the flowers stem. For this purpose, we folded a blossom made out of paper. In the center of the blosson is an RGB LED incorporated.
The wires form the stem of the flower and the buckling of the stem works through a servo motor. A humidity sensor, which is controlled by an Arduino just like the Flower, measures the water content in the soil.


PowerFlowerBlau

The communication between the two installations, the flower and the sensor, works through the program vvvv, which establishes a network connection between two laptops and the two Arduinos. Thus, the flower is the receiver and the humidity sensor is the transmitter. The Arduino with the humidity sensor sends via vvvv the values from the flower bed to the second Arduino with the flower and the motor. The code for the Power Flower determines specific colors and movement of the motor for specific value ranges.


PowerFlowerOrange

PowerFlower

Vanessa Stöckel, Jana Seemann, Marina Rost

1. Semester, Wintersemester 16/17

im Kurs Grundlagen Technologien

bei Laurens Rinke

Die Aufgabenstellung im dreitägigen Blockseminar "Technologien", war es: "interaktive Maschinen zu entwickeln, die über Netzwerk miteinander kommunizieren und dadurch ihr Verhalten verändern". Das Verhalten sollte menschen-, bzw. tier-ähnlich sein.

Wir entschieden uns für die Entwicklung und Gestaltung einer Blume, die durch das Ändern ihrer Blütenfarbe und das Abknicken der Blüte den Wasserstand in einem Beeten oder Blumentöpfen anzeigen sollte. Hierfür falteten wir eine Blüte aus Papier, in deren Mitte eine RGB-LED eingearbeitet wurde.
Die Kabel bilden den Stiel der Blume und das Abknicken wird durch einen Servomotor ermöglicht. Ein Feuchtigkeitssensor, welcher ebenfalls wie die Blume über einen Arduino angesteuert wird, misst den Wassergehalt in der Erde.


PowerFlowerBlau

Die Kommunikation zwischen beiden Installationen, der Blume und dem Sensor, funktioniert über das Programm vvvv, welches eine Netzwerkverbindung zwischen zwei Laptops und den beiden Arduinos herstellt. Somit ist die Blume der Empfänger und der Feuchtigkeitssensor der Sender. Der Arduino mit dem Feuchtigkeitssensor sendet über vvvv die Messwerte aus der Erde an den zweiten Arduino mit der Blume und dem Motor. In dem Code für die Blume sind für bestimmte Wertebereiche spezifische Farben und Bewegung des Motors festgelegt.


PowerFlowerOrange